Posted by: Joseph S. Lima | March 15, 2010

Feeling like Rip van Winkle

Yawn.  Stretch. Sigh. Scratch, scratch.   Hmmm, what day is it?  Why are all of the clocks are all out of whack.  How many unread posts are in this reader??? SXSW is in full swing? Huh?

This is how I feel lately.  It has been weeks since I last looked at my Google Reader or paid much attention to Twitter.  I blame the Winter Olympics.  My oldest daughter (who in fact is not that old) wanted to watch some of the competition every night.  So I got sucked right into the events, even after she went to bed.  Then this, that and the other thing kept popping up, you know, Life.  My social media interest took a back seat to everything else and I now feel like Rip van Winkle waking up from a long sleep.

I have a confession to make. I don’t feel like I have missed much. Heresy! Burn him at the stake! Seriously, I don’t feel any different.  Many interesting events have come and gone (like TED) and tons of amazing conversations are taking place right now. I have read some posts, sent some tweets, checked out some new FB fan pages and blogs.  Yet the feeling that I had to read everything or I would be out of the loop is not there anymore.  Wonderfully liberating.

Which brings me to a little secret I want to share with marketers, business owners or anyone who expects social marketing to radically change their project.  A lot of people are like me.  Despite the research that says people are increasing their time on line and on social networks in the aggregate, I think that people are very choosy where and with whom they spend that time.  The trendy phrase is “curation”.

For people looking to social marketing as the silver bullet, curation is an important concept to remember.  Just because you have X number of fans or Y number of followers does not mean that all of these people are fully engaged all of the time.  As the content creator, you have to keep the content creation process humming along without knowing how many of your total followers or fans are even paying attention.  Yes, there are methods to measure and analyze how people are engaging with you. But don’t for a minute assume that everyone is listening at the same time. Do not measure success just in quantity, pay attention to what people are saying and how much time they are spending with your you and your organization.  Adjust your expectations accordingly.

Had some more coffee. Time to jump back into the pool. Hope to see you more soon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

