Posted by: Joseph S. Lima | January 15, 2010

Seth and Me

Happy 2010! I am still here, alive and kicking. This was not going to be my first post of 2010 but life takes over, it is what is, yada-yada-yada and so on.  The other posts I have started will eventually see the light of day. Eventually.

Second full week of 2010 has had its fair share of news from the terrible, on-going tragedy in Haiti to the Google-China tiff to the New England Patriots losing miserably last weekend.  Today is Martin Luther King Jr. birthday. Each one of these items deserve their own post (except the Patriots, they are just a nice diversion in the grand scheme of things).

Today’s post is about Seth and me.  Now Seth does not know who I am nor have I ever seen him in person.  I only “know” him from his books, his blogs, videos of past speaking engagements and his Triiibe.  He is articulate, insightful, challenging, thought provoking and a provocateur.  I am referring to Seth Godin. {Cue angelic music…kidding}

Seth has a new book coming out on January 26th called Linchpin.  The basic premise is that we have been taught in school and by societal norms to be compliant, to not stand out from the crowd.  This has resulted in many people leading lives that a far less rewarding than could have been.   We should not be cogs in the machine.  Rather we should strive to be indispensable, to be unique, to be Linchpins.

As always Seth takes a different approach to promoting his ideas.  For Linchpin he is foregoing the normal process of sending copies to book reviewers, newspapers, and journalists.   He made an offer on his blog; he would provide a copy of the book, at his expense, to the first 3,000 people who made a donation to the Acumen Fund.  I made a donation and have received my copy earlier this week.  🙂

Now I am on the journey of reading and writing about the book.  I may take a “Julie, Julia” approach to my review and dribble out bits at a time or I may consolidate all my notes into one massive post.  In the meantime, other citizen reviewers have finished the book (bet they don’t have small children) and their thoughts can be found at sethgodin.com/linchpin.

Have a great weekend and stay tuned!

Responses

  1. […] Let me get this out of the way. If the earlier post about Seth Godin “Seth and Me” did not give you the idea that I am a Seth fanboy then this post most certainly will. I think that […]

  2. […] and Me, Part 3 I have written previously about Seth Godin and the impact his books and ideas have had on me.  Today I had the privilege of […]

  3. I have a notable synthetic eye with regard to details and may
    anticipate problems before these people take place.

  4. Wonderful article! That is the kind of info that should be shared around the web.

    Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you =)

  5. I love to disseminate knowledge that I have accumulated with the season
    to help improve team efficiency.

  6. I love to disseminate information that will I’ve accrued through the calendar year to help improve group overall performance.

  7. I like to disseminate understanding that will I’ve accrued with the 12 months to assist improve team performance.

  8. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the good info you have
    here on this post. I will probably be coming again to
    your blog for more soon.

  9. I like to disseminate knowledge that I’ve accumulated through the season to assist enhance group performance.

  10. Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The entire look of your website is fantastic, as smartly as the content material!


Leave a Reply

Categories

